What is Bulk Operations?
Bulk Operations is the way to modify or delete one or more projects, roles, project leads, categories or components from your JIRA instance at the same time. This way you can keep your JIRA instance tidy and organized. This means that there is going to be a few new steps added to Profields.
First of all, after installing the new Profields version (6.0.0), as soon as you enter the Project Navigator, you'll find the new Bulk Operations button that is located on the top right corner of the screen. By selecting it, you'll se the drop-down menu that will show all the possible bulk opertations that you are going to be able to do.
How does Bulk Operations Work?
In order for you to understand the feature, we'll explain how it works in a few simple steps that you'll find in the next pages.
Please note, that this new feature has dependencies on the User's Permissions. Here's a simple explanation on how these work:
- Admin: this user can see every option and complete every action in the new feature, as seen in the screenshot above (What is Bulk Operations).
- Project Admin: with this kind of permissions, the user will be able to use Bulk Operations on the projects where she is a Project Admin, but this user will only be able to use 4 of the Options. Please see the image below.
- User without Project Admin but with Bulk Permissions: this User will be able to see the Bulk Operations options, but she won't be able to take on any action on the projects. A warning sign followed by an explanatory text will be shown in order to inform the user, as seen in the screenshot below.
- User Without Bulk Permissions: this User will not even see the Bulk Operations options in the Project anvigator. This permission can be administered at the Jira Global permissions screen (Jira Administration > System > Global Permissions). See attachment below.